How many Zodiac signs are there? Meet the 12 astrological signs, their traits and more.

·4 min read

Are you interested in astrology, or know someone who seems to know everything about the zodiac signs? Through analyzing birth charts and breaking down each one, some believe a zodiac sign can say a lot about someone's personality.

But how does one get started on their own astrological journey? Well, you won't need a telescope or binoculars to read these stars. Here is a quick guide to help you understand how astrology works from how many signs there are to which sign is yours.

Is it in the stars? Free Daily and Monthly Horoscopes

What are angel numbers? A beginner's guide to angel numbers and what they (could) mean.

How many Zodiac signs are there?

There are 12 zodiac signs:

Are the stars dooming your love life? How your Zodiac sign may affect dating.

What is the most dangerous Zodiac sign? Understanding astrology and the 12 Zodiac signs.

What is my Zodiac sign?

Your zodiac sign is based is on your birthday. But, when getting in-depth with astrology, there is more to your zodiac than just your birthday. For instance, there are element associations, as well as moon or rising signs, among others.

But before going into too much detail, here is a breakdown of the 12 signs and their key characteristics:

Aries: March 21 - April 19

Aries is a fire sign, and it is the first sign in the Zodiac. Its name derives from the Greek god of war. Those with this sign are courageous, strong-willed and carefree. Appropriately, the symbol for Aries is the ram.

Taurus: April 20 – May 20

Taurus is an earth sign and is commonly associated with being stubborn. Those with this sign are generous and dedicated. Fittingly, its symbol is the bull. Tauruses are also unafraid to take their time and are quite resilient.

Gemini: May 21- June 21

Gemini is an air sign and is symbolized by a pair of twins. Those with this sign are communicative, intellectual and curious. They often dive into many things rather than go really deep into one thing.

Cancer: June 22 – July 22

Cancer is a water sign and fittingly is represented by the crab. Cancers are said to be very emotional and often experience high levels of sentimentality, compassion and loyalty. They are also sympathetic and kind.

Leo: July 23 – August 22

Leo is a fire sign and is represented by the lion: the king (or queen) of the jungle. Leos are often associated with being hard-working, confident and loyal. They are also said to be natural-born leaders.

Virgo: August 23 – September 22

Virgo is represented by the symbol of a maiden, who is occasionally seen holding wheat. So, there is no wonder why Virgo is an earth sign. Virgos are seen as diligent and analytical. However, this can sometimes lead to over-activeness and perfectionism.

Libra: September 23 – October 23

Libra is an air sign and is represented by the symbol of the scales. Libras are said to be creative and idealistic. But those with this sign can also be indecisive, struggling to commit.

Scorpio: October 24 – November 21

Fittingly, Scorpio is represented by a scorpion. This water sign is known to be determined, passionate and competitive. They are also seen as mysterious and hard to exactly pinpoint.

Sagittarius: November 22 – December 21

Sagittarius is a fire sign and is symbolized by the archer. Those with this sign are said to be optimistic and adventurous. However, they can also be seen as inconsistent.

Capricorn: December 22 – January 19

Capricorn is represented by the sea goat and is the final earth sign. They are believed to be ambitious, practical and focused. They’re a good shoulder to lean on, but do have a tendency to become pessimistic or cold.

Aquarius: January 20 – February 18

Aquarius is represented by the water bearer. And despite its name and symbol, Aquarius is an air sign. Aquariuses are seen as creative and clever, but they can also be distant and struggle with expressing their emotions.

Pisces: February 19 – March 20

Represented by two fish, Pisces is the final water sign. Pisces are known to be sensitive, imaginative and understanding. They can easily read the emotions of others and are very much ruled by their own.

What is my sun sign?

Your sun sign corresponds with your birthday and determines your identity, personality and core in life.

What is my moon sign?

Your moon sign is determined by the moon's position at the time of your birth, and it signifies your emotions and feelings.

What is my rising sign?

Your rising sign, also known as ascendant, is based on the time you were born and is considered the "mask" you use when interacting with other people.

New to Astrology? We've got you covered. Explore more zodiac coverage and find out what the stars say about you with USA TODAY's astrological sign series.

More information on each Zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: How many Zodiac signs are there? Meet the 12 signs, their traits, more