Mitchell Post 18 lands four on Class A Legion all-state baseball team

·2 min read

Sep. 20—MITCHELL — Four Mitchell Post 18 Legion baseball players earned Class A all-state selections as the 21-person team was announced on Sept. 20. The selections were made by the coaches in Class A.

Right-handed hurlers Jake Helleloid and Landon Waddell were chosen to the all-state pitching staff, while third baseman Jonah Schmidt and shortstop Dylan Soulek were named all-state infielders. All four were among the five Mitchell High School all-state honorees from the 2022 spring baseball season.

Helleloid and Waddell combined to pitch 106 1/3 innings this summer, each earning seven wins on the mound for Post 18, which finished the season with a 27-15 record.

Helleloid, a finalist for player of the year during the spring high school baseball season, struck out 76 batters and boasted an ERA of 1.80 and WHIP of 1.16 in 58 1/3 innings for Post 18. His strikeout total was the second-most on the all-state team behind Rapid City Post 22's Palmer Jacobs but in 25 fewer innings and was clear of the next closest honoree by 24 strikeouts.

Waddell struck out 38 batters and allowed just 34 hits in 48 innings, amassing a 7-1 record with an ERA of 2.63 and WHIP of 1.48.

Schmidt led all all-state selections with 50 RBIs while posting a .374 batting average with six doubles, seven triples and three home runs to go along with 16 stolen bases and 38 runs scored.

Both Helleloid and Schmidt are moving on to college baseball careers at Northern State, and Waddell is continuing his career at Dakota Wesleyan.

Soulek, the only non-senior among the Post 18 players honored, led Mitchell with a .432 batting average, notching nine doubles, three triples and one home run. He also stole 11 bases and scored 52 runs, which was the most of any all-state infielder.

Pierre's Lincoln Kienholz and Yankton's Joe Gokie were both selected as all-state pitchers and infielders and were the only two selections to multiple positions.

State champion Post 22 joined Mitchell as the only programs with four selections, while Yankton, which did not advance to the state tournament, had three. Sioux Falls Post 15 East, the state runner-up, and Harrisburg both landed two players on the all-state team, while top-seeded Brookings, Pierre, Brandon Valley, Rapid City Post 320, Sturgis and Huron all had one.