Mitchell's Maddie Childs, Asher Dannenbring win SDGA junior tour event titles

·2 min read

Jul. 12—Mitchell's Maddie Childs and Asher Dannenbring captured South Dakota Golf Association junior tour titles at Lakeview Golf Course on Monday. Childs won the girls 14-15 division, while Dannenbring won the boys 12-13 division.

Childs carded a 15-over-par 87 and edged Canton's Cecelia VanDenTop by shots for the title. Childs shot a 41 on the front nine and a 46 on the back nine. Presho's Isabella McNaughton (96) placed third.

Dannenbring shot a 2-over-par 74 and finished two shots ahead of Yankton's Easton Vellek and Watertown's Johnathan Lake. Dannenbring shot a 36 on the front nine and a 38 on the back nine, while he carded four birdies.

Mitchell's Carter McCormick (87) tied for ninth place, while Mitchell's Mason Moody (120) placed in 21st place.

In the boys 14-15 division, Boyden, Iowa's Reece Koele (79) captured top honors. Mitchell's Noah Larson (82) and William Prunty (85) placed fifth and seventh, respectively. Ethan's Rylan Gerlach (86) tied for ninth place. Mitchell's Brady Reiners (91), Marshall Widstrom (91) and Jager Juracek (93) finished 11th-through-13th, respectively.

Mitchell's Samuel Titze (96) and Matthew Mauszycki (105) placed 16th and 19th, respectively.

In the boys 16-18 division, Sioux Falls' Charlie Mickelson (71) captured first-place honors. Mitchell's Jackson Childs (80) finished in ninth place. Alexandria's Jayden Kayser (83), Parkston's Quinn Bormann (83) and Ethan's Kody Klumb (83) tied for 14th place.

Bridgewater's Hunter Bailey (89) and Plankinton's Caleb Knock (98) finished 25th and 30th, respectively.

Canton's Olivia Sorlie (83) won the girls 16-18 division. Mitchell's Lara Widstrom (94) finished in seventh place. Aberdeen's Kyley Wirebaugh (89) won the girls 12-13 division.

The 9-under and 10-11 division golfers played nine holes on Monday.

Sioux Falls' Tyson Blom won the 10-11 boys division with a 5-over-par 41. Mitchell's Eli Konrad (58) finished in fifth place.

In the 10-11 girls division, Vermillion's Ronnie Wilharm shot a 2-over-par 38 to earn the title.

In the 9-under boys division, Pierre's Rigley Kulesa and Brandon's Teddy Krivarchka tied for first place with 39s. Presho's Jonah McNaughton finished fourth with a 42.

In the 9-under girls division, Dell Rapids' Maddison Bacon (55) edged Mitchell's Emma Reinesch (57) for the title.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting