A new Florida law is now in effect to help you feel safer under your own roof.
While Miya’s Law was signed by Governor Ron DeSantis in June, it’s one of several new laws that went into effect Jan 1.
Part of the law requires background checks for all apartment employees.
A person may be disqualified from employment if the person has been found guilty of certain offenses involving violence and disregard for safety.
“That would be good, because you don’t want just anybody in your house,” said renter Catrina Pollins.
Also, landlords are required to give tenants 24 hours of notice before entering a unit for maintenance or repairs.
The new law also requires management to keep an accurate log accounting for the issuance and return of all keys and establish policies for their issuance, return, and storage.
The apartment’s key log and background screenings will be subject to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s annual inspection of apartments.
“I feel like they should give us a 24-hour notice, because you just can’t pop up and say this person is coming up,” Pollins said.
Miya’s Law was named in honor of Miya Marcano, who was killed in her Orlando apartment near the University of Central Florida in September 2021.
Police believe her killer was a maintenance worker who had access to Miya’s apartment. He had a prior felony and was found dead three days after Miya disappeared, from an apparent suicide.
[SIGN UP: Action News Jax Daily Headlines Newsletter]