12 counties are now eligible for FEMA. Here's how to get flooding assistance

Members of the Tennessee Task Force One search and rescue team searched through Troublesome Creek in Perry County, looking for potential victims after one of the Gideon Rescue HR (Human Remains) Dogs 'hit' on an area jumbled with debris on Sunday, July 31, 2022
·3 min read

Residents of 12 Eastern Kentucky counties are eligible for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency following the flooding that devastated the region in late july.

Renters and homeowners in Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Whitley counties may apply for individual disaster assistance from the FEMA, Gov. Andy Beshear said in a conference on Tuesday.

"That is only as good as the number of people that get qualified and get FEMA assistance," Beshear said.

People can apply for FEMA assistance at disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362. People may also use the FEMA mobile app.

More:Eastern Kentucky flooding ravages Breathitt County, conjures memories of previous disasters

Residents will need the following.

  • Current phone number

  • Address

  • Time of disaster

  • Where you are currently staying

  • Social Security number

  • General list of damage and losses

  • Banking information (for direct deposit)

  • Policy number, agent or company of insurance provider (if insured)

FEMA mobile centers in Eastern Kentucky

FEMA has announced the opening of seven mobile centers so far:

  • Knott County: Knott County Sportsplex, 450 Kenny Champion Loop #8765 in Leburn, Kentucky

  • Clay County: Clay Community Center, 311 Highway 638 in Manchester, Kentucky

  • Breathitt County: 421 Jett Drive in Jackson, KY

  • Letcher County: Letcher County Recreation Center, 1505 Jenkins Road in Whitesburg, Kentucky

  • Perry County: Hazard Community and Technical College, 1 Community College Drive in Hazard, Kentucky

  • Floyd County: Martin Community Center, 7199 KY Rte. 80 in Langley, Kentucky

  • Pike County: 15308 US 23 S. in Jenkins, Kentucky

The hours for each center are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily.

More details on how to apply for FEMA assistance can be found here as well an accessible tutorial on how to apply.

'Warmer and wetter': US' changing climate helps fuel record Kentucky flooding, experts say

Breathitt, Knott, Letcher and Perry counties are eligible for direct temporary housing assistance, a FEMA program that provides direct lease, multi-family lease and repair and transportable temporary housing units.

In addition to the mobile FEMA centers, four disaster recovery centers have opened. Survivors from any county that's eligible for individual assistance may go to disaster centers to apply for FEMA assistance.

  • Perry County: Hazard Community College – 1 Community College Dr., Hazard, Kentucky

  • Knott County: Knott County Sportsplex – 450 Kenny Champion Loop #8765, Leburn, Kentucky

  • Clay County: Oneida Elementary School – 435 Newfound Rd., Oneida, Kentucky (closes 4 p.m. Aug. 10)

  • Letcher County: Letcher County Recreation Center – 1505 Jenkins Road, Whitesburg, Kentucky

A press release from FEMA said representatives will "be at the centers to help with applications for federal assistance and provide information about other disaster recovery resources" which may include "include money for temporary housing, basic home repairs or other uninsured, disaster-related needs such as childcare, transportation and medical, funeral or dental expenses."

Beshear encouraged those who have been denied to go speak face-to-face with representatives even for those who have been denied.

This story may be updated.

Contact reporter Rae Johnson at RNJohnson@gannett.com. Follow them on Twitter at @RaeJ_33.

This article originally appeared on Louisville Courier Journal: Mobile FEMA stations open in Eastern Kentucky after flooding