Montesano's Poler earns league MVP award

·2 min read

May 26—Montesano junior shortstop Bode Poler earned top honors as the 1A Evergreen League announced its all-league team for the 2023 season.

Poler was named the league's Most Valuable Player after leading league-champion Montesano with a .508 batting average, three home runs, 12 doubles, 33 runs and 24 RBI.

Poler was joined on the First Team by teammates Josh Wills (.410, 20 R, 19 RBI, 13 SB), Kaleb Ames (.397, 24 R, 17 RBI, 17 SB), Cam Taylor (.410, HR, 19 RBI; 3-0, 2.71 ERA, 35 K) and Christian Olsen (.308, 20 R, 13 RBI).

Three Elma Eagles were named to the top squad as Gibson Cain (.397, HR, 21 R, 16 RBI), Andrew Sanders (.327, 11 RBI; 4-1, 3.15 ERA, 39 K) and Grant Vessey (.304, 20 R, 13 RBI; .976 FPCT) earning First Team honors.

Hoquiam's Zander Jump was named a first-teamer after batting above .400 with four doubles, 14 runs and 11 stolen bases this season.

Montesano head coach Mike Osgood and his staff was named the 1A Evergreen Coaching Staff of the Year.

The complete all-league team is as follows:

2023 1A Evergreen All-League Baseball Team

League MVP: Bode Poler, Montesano

Coaching Staff of the Year: Montesano

First Team

Gibson Cain, Elma; Andrew Sanders, Elma; Grant Vessey, Elma; Zander Jump, Hoquiam; Josh Wills, Montesano; Cam Taylor, Montesano; Kaleb Ames, Montesano; Christian Olsen, Montesano; Austin Gonia, Tenino; Easton Snider, Tenino; Kellan Knox, Tenino; Cody Strawn, Tenino; Will Feltus, Tenino.

Second Team

Payton Hanly, Eatonville; Ethan Camus, Elma; Jack Alexander, Elma; Brody Palmer, Elma; Jake Templer, Hoquiam; Skylar Bove, Montesano; John Kling, Montesano; Jackson Busz, Montesano; Brody Noonan, Tenino; Jack Burkhardt, Tenino.

Honorable Mention

Cooper Field, Eatonville; Colton Herbrand, Eatonville; Carter Studer, Elma; Eastin Wright, Elma; Blake Corr, Elma; Mick Bozich, Hoquiam; Dominic Standstipher, Hoquiam; Denali Harris, Hoquiam; Michael Vasser, Tenino.