NH primary is high stakes for Republicans. Winners to challenge Sen. Hassan, Rep. Pappas.

In the New Hampshire primary election Sept. 13, voters will choose candidates to represent the Democratic and Republican parties for state and federal offices in the Nov. 8 general election.

Incumbent Democratic Sen. Maggie Hassan and Democratic Congressman Chris Pappas are running unopposed in the Democratic primary, and there is fierce competition among Republicans vying for the chance to run against them.

In the GOP race for U.S. Senate, Don Bolduc of Stratham, a retired Army brigadier general, is leading the field of contenders, according to the latest poll from the University of New Hampshire Survey Center. State Senate President Chuck Morse of Salem has been closing the gap in recent weeks, while the remaining challengers, Londonderry Town Manager Kevin Smith and businessmen Vikram Mansharamani and Bruce Fenton have continued to see single-digit support. The Aug. 30 poll found 20% of likely GOP primary voters still undecided. The winner of the primary on Sept. 13 will face off against Hassan in the general election.

NH primary 2022 election results: Follow up-to-the-minute results as they come in

2022 NH primary election: Seacoast polling times and places on Sept. 13

The 2022 New Hampshire primary election is being held Tuesday, Sept. 13, with Republican races for U.S. Senate and U.S. House nominations the top items on ballots across the state.

In Congressional District 1, former Trump administration official Matt Mowers, who lost to Pappas in 2020, is locked in a statistical dead heat with Karoline Leavitt, a 25-year-old former Trump communications official and native of Atkinson, according to a UNH Survey Center poll. Former TV investigative reporter Gail Huff Brown, of Rye, remains within striking distance of the two frontrunners while former state Sen. Russell Prescott of Kingston and State Rep. Tim Baxter of Seabrook, have struggled to gain traction with voters. The survey found 26% of voters still undecided. The winner of this primary will take on Pappas in the general election.

For governor, state Sen. Tom Sherman, MD is unopposed in the Democratic primary, while incumbent Republican Gov. Chris Sununu faces five challengers from within his own party, but all remain in low single digits, according to the latest UNH poll.

More: Sununu faces 5 GOP challengers from right in primary, but none with Trump endorsement

In the Seacoast region, none of the state Executive Council or state Senate district primaries are contested.

Some Rockingham and Strafford county NH House seats have contested primaries

Voters in some communities will see contested primaries for state representative.

In Rockingham County District 10, representing Newmarket and Newfields, five Democrats are vying for three seats. The candidates are incumbents Michael Cahill, Charlotte DiLorenzo and Ellen Read, and challengers Scott Blockstone and Jesus R. Duarte Apan. All candidates are from Newmarket. The winner of this primary will take on Republican Jeanene Cooper, also from Newmarket, in the Nov. 8 general election.

In Rockingham District 19, representing Hampton Falls and Kensington, Republicans Forrest Oster and Susan M. Porcelli of Hampton Falls and John Valvanis of Kensington are vying for one open seat. The winner of this primary will face Democrat Joe Pace of Kensington in November.

In Rockingham District 21, representing Portsmouth Ward 1 and Newington, longtime Democratic incumbent State Rep. Jackie Cali-Pitts is being challenged in the Democratic primary by Robin Vogt, also of Portsmouth. There is no Republican candidate in this race.

In Rockingham District 23, representing North Hampton, Republicans Kirsten Larsen Schultz and Rick Stanton are competing to represent their party against incumbent Democrat Jim Maggiore in November.

In Rockingham District 30, representing Seabrook, Republicans William Fowler, Tina L. Harley and Aboul B. Khan are vying for two open seats. The two winners will take on Democrats Bob Albright and Camille Daly in November.

In Rockingham District 33, a floterial district representing Exeter, Newfields, Newmarket and Stratham, Republicans Jessical Liskey of Stratham and Robert Sacco of Exeter are vying to be the candidate to take on Democratic incumbent Alexis Simpson of Exeter in November.

A guide to voter rights in New Hampshire: What you need to know before you cast a ballot

In Rockingham District 40, a floterial district representing Hampton and Seabrook, there are contested races among both Democrats and Republicans for the one open seat. Erica R. DeVries of Hampton and Mark F. Preston of Seabrook are facing off on the Democratic ballot while the Republican ballot features incumbent Max Abramson, Jason A. Janvrin and James P. Johnson, all from Seabrook.

In Strafford District 10, representing Durham, five candidates are vying for four seats. Incumbents Timothy Horrigan, Cam Kenney and Marjorie Smith, are joined in the field by Loren Selig and Payton McManus. Longtime incumbent Judith Spang opted not to seek re-election.

In Strafford District 19, representing Rochester wards 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6, there are contested races in both primaries with four candidates from each party seeking three open seats. The Democratic race features Daniel Fitzpatrick, David Herman, Jerry Minihan and Seph Warren. The Republican race features James Connor, Fenton Groen Isabella Koenigs and Kelly L. Potenza.

In Strafford District 21, representing Dover wards 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6, four Democrats are vying for three seats. Luz Bay, Geoff Smith, Nathaniel Stewart and Susan Treleaven will face off on Sept. 13 and the top three vote getters will challenge Republicans John V. Caggiano, Michael Castaldo and Mark Hastings in November.

More: NH voters head to polls in primary amid legal battles over new legislative districts

Can I vote in a party primary if I’m unenrolled?

Yes. According to the New Hampshire secretary of state, an undeclared voter may vote in a state primary or a presidential primary. You will be required to choose either a Republican or Democratic ballot when you go to vote. 

An FAQ on primary voting can be found at sos.nh.gov/elections/information/faqs/voting-party-primaries.

This article originally appeared on Portsmouth Herald: 2022 NH primary: Bolduc, Morse for Senate; Mowers, Leavitt for House