Sep. 11—NORTH FAIRFIELD — The North Fairfield Historical Association will join with similar organizations all over the state in recognizing "Ohio Open Doors" on Sunday, Sept. 18.
A program created by the Ohio History Connection encourages history-related groups to hold an event sometime between Sept. 9 to 18 to showcase their local history.
North Fairfield celebrates its goals, "Shining Brighter, Growing Stronger."
North Fairfield Museum has been operating continuously since its opening in October 1944 and is located in a house built as a residence in 1841. It features clothing, items used in homes, farms, businesses and industries; photos, school memorabilia, local and family history records. The village, a part of the Firelands, was settled in 1816, and early residents came primarily from Connecticut and eastern New York, seeking new lives for their families.
In addition to touring the museum, visitors may enjoy homemade soup and snacks and visit with old and new friends and neighbors. A highlight of the afternoon will be two dedications, one on honor of longtime residents Dale and Jean Ebinger; the other, the of the bell originally hung in the tower of the local school which now rests in a structure designed and erected by Lochlyn Ramsey for his Eagle Scout project.
The event hours are 12:30 to 4 p.m. The Museum is located at 7 N. Main St. and is handicap accessible. All parts of the program are free of charge. For further information, please call or text Ruth at 419-681-0677.