Number of candidates in North Hills face no primary challenge

Tony LaRussa, The Tribune-Review, Greensburg
·2 min read

May 4—Several communities in the North Hills have no contested races in the May 18 primary among candidates seeking their party's nomination to run for mayor, borough council or township supervisor in the fall general election.

Franklin Park


Incumbent Mayor Dennis O'Keefe is running uncontested for the Republican nomination for mayor.

He will face Democrat Sumana Naik, who is not being challenged for her party's nomination in the primary.

Ward 1

Incumbent James Hogg is running unopposed for the GOP nomination as the Ward 1 representative to borough council.

There are no Democrats on the ballot this spring for the Ward 1 seat.

Ward 2

Democrat Anne Graziani is seeking her party's nomination to run for the Ward 2 seat in November. She is unopposed.

Incumbent Councilman Luke Myslinski has no challengers in the primary for the GOP nod to run for another term as the Ward 2 representative.

Ward 3

Incumbent Thomas Schwartzmier is running unopposed in the Ward 3 Republican primary.

There are no Democrats in the race.

Marshall Township

Incumbent Republican Supervisors Thomas Madigan and Robert Edwards are running for reelection for the two seats that will open at the end of the year.

There are no Democrats on the primary ballot.

Bradford Woods

Four Republican candidates are on the ticket for their party's nomination to run for the four open seats on borough council.

The field includes incumbent council members Kevin Rhule, David Baldonieri and Victoria Lair Pongrace.

Incumbent Councilman Charles Coltharp is not seeking another term.

Republican Daniel Bo Dimond is running to fill an open seat.

There are no Democrats seeking their party's nomination in the primary.

Tony LaRussa is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Tony at 724-772-6368, or via Twitter .