NY Adds 8 States To Travel Advisory Requiring 14-Day Quarantine

Daniel Hampton

NEW YORK, NY — New York on Tuesday added eight states to its list of places where travelers will have to quarantine for two weeks. Gov. Andrew Cuomo said people who travel to New York from California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee now meet the metrics to qualify for the state's travel advisory, which was implemented last week.

Cuomo said the states all have significant community spread of the coronavirus. The quarantine applies to people who come from states that have a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or at least a 10 percent positive rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Cuomo's announcement comes as the state continued to see a low infection rate. The number of positive COVID-19 tests on Monday remained at 1 percent. Thirteen people died of the disease, which is caused by the coronavirus.

"As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening," Cuomo said.

Here is the updated list of states on the travel advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

This article originally appeared on the Long Island Patch