BOSTON – Maybe you've heard this one before, but the Bruins were robbed of another goal on Sunday night.
Certainly it wasn't the only reason they were trailing 2-0 to the Philadelphia Flyers after two periods of play as they were outshot by a 20-10 margin over that span. But the game could have been a little closer after it appeared that Par Lindholm had scored his second goal of the season after crashing the net and pushing a puck past the goal line after a Connor Clifton net drive.
And this wasn't called a goal. Another potential goal taken away from the Bruins.— Evan Marinofsky (@emarinofsky) November 11, 2019
A nightly occurrence at this point. pic.twitter.com/8Nowy0jeIJ
Instead, there was no whistle on the ice, no definitive call as to what had actually happened and no penalty called on the play with plenty of contact in the crease area. Instead it went to a video review for three minutes in the middle of the second period and an announcement was made to the crowd that it was ruled "no goal" with zero further explanation from the referee crew of Francis Charron and Garret Rank.
Later the NHL released an explanation from the Situation Room and it appears that either Clifton or Zach Senyshyn was called for goalie interference on Carter Hart that eventually led to the puck going over the goal line. According to the NHL press release, "The Situation Room initiated a video review after the puck crossed the Philadelphia goal line. The Referee informed the Situation Room he had no goal on the ice due to goaltender interference."
It wasn't quite the back-breaking no-goal call that the Bruins suffered in Montreal when a Charlie Coyle third period goal was overturned by a coach's challenge, but it's certainly another log on the fire to a Bruins fan base that feels like they've been on the short end of the stick with the no-goal calls this season.
Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.
Par Lindholm, Bruins lose yet another goal in controversial call originally appeared on NBC Sports Boston