Passaic County Clerk Extends Office Hours For Primary Election

Montana Samuels

PASSAIC COUNTY, NJ — Wayne Township residents who will need to vote in-person during the July 7 primary elections now have a wider window of time to do so.

The Passaic County Clerk's Office announced extended hours for in-person voting at both the 401 Grand Street office in Paterson, and the satellite office at 1237 Ringwood Ave. in Wanaque, New Jersey.

Offices at both locations will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Thursday, July 2. The offices will be closed on Friday, but open on July 4 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

The majority of votes will be cast by mail after COVID-19 delayed this year's elections, and caused Gov. Phil Murphy to make adjustments to voting.

"Our goals are twofold," Gov. Phil Murphy said when he made the announcement in May. "To maximize our democracy while minimizing the risk of illness. We want everyone to participate in a safe, fully democratic process."

All registered Democratic and Republican voters will automatically receive a postage paid vote-by-mail ballot while all unaffiliated and inactive voters will automatically receive a postage paid vote-by-mail application. Those ballots can be sent back by mail or dropped in one of the boxes.

There are five secure drop box locations in Passaic County:

  • City of Clifton Municipal Complex, 900 Clifton Ave., Clifton
  • City of Passaic Municipal Complex, 330 Passaic St., Passaic
  • County of Passaic Administration Building at the corner of Clark Street and De Grasse Street, Paterson
  • Borough of Ringwood Municipal Complex, 60 Margaret King Ave., Ringwood
  • Township of Wayne Municipal Complex, 475 Valley Rd., Wayne

This article originally appeared on the Wayne Patch