Pelosi announces Schiff, Nadler, and more as impeachment managers

Brendan Morrow

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has officially announced the impeachment managers who will prosecute the case against President Trump.

Pelosi in a news conference Wednesday announced seven impeachment managers: Reps. Adam Schiff (D-Calif.), Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.), Val Demings (D-Fla.), Jason Crow (D-Colo.), and Sylvia Garcia (D-Texas).

Pelosi noted that this is Lofgren's third impeachment; as The New York Times reports, she was a House Judiciary Committee member during the impeachment of former President Bill Clinton, and she helped in the drafting of the charges against former President Richard Nixon as a law student.

The House of Representatives is set to vote Wednesday on a resolution naming the impeachment managers, setting up the articles charging Trump with abuse of power and obstruction of Congress to be transmitted to the Senate. The trial in the Senate is expected to begin next Tuesday, according to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.).

Pelosi's naming of the impeachment managers comes a month after the articles of impeachment were passed in the House, and she argued Wednesday that "time has been our friend in all of this because it has yielded incriminating evidence." She also described Trump's impeachment as "an impeachment that will last forever."

More stories from
Lev Parnas says Trump is lying about not knowing him, and he'll keep releasing photos to prove it
Mitch McConnell should recuse himself
Puerto Rico drains half of emergency funds as it awaits White House response on disaster designation