Polk County's U.S. representatives given committee assignments

Polk County’s four U.S. House members have received their committee assignments for the 118th Congress.

Rep. Scott Franklin, R-Lakeland, has been assigned to the House Appropriations and Veterans Affairs Committees. Franklin gained election in November in District 18, which encompasses eastern Polk County and all or part of Hardee, DeSoto, Highlands, Okeechobee, Glades, Hendry and Collier counties.

Controversy: Advocates rally in Lakeland, criticize DeSantis for blocking African-American studies class

Crime: Justice Department indicts two for spray-painted threats at Winter Haven pregnancy center

Rep. Darren Soto, D-Kissimmee, has been appointed to the Energy and Commerce Committee. Soto is in his fourth term in District 9, which covers two sections of eastern Polk County, all of Osceola County and part of Orange County.

Rep. Laurel Lee, R-Tampa, has been named to three committees: Homeland Security, Judiciary and Administration. Lee, a former Florida Secretary of State, gained election in November to her first term in District 15, whose boundaries include western Polk County and parts of Hillsborough and Pasco counties.

Rep. Daniel Webster, R-Clermont, will continue to serve on three House committees: Transportation and Infrastructure; Natural Resources; and Science, Space and Technology.

Webster gained reelection in November in the newly drawn District 11, which includes northern Polk County and parts of Lake, Marion, Citrus, Sumter and Hernando counties.

This article originally appeared on The Ledger: Polk County's U.S. representatives given committee assignments