REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/ 6 a.m. SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 p.m. GMT/ 6 a.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.


TOP STORIES


GLOBAL


SAUDI-OIL-USA-IRAN/

Saudi Arabia oil facilities attacked, U.S.-Iran tensions flare

RIYADH/DUBAI (Reuters) - Saudi Arabia said armed drones struck two oil pumping stations in the kingdom on Tuesday in what it called a “cowardly” act of terrorism two days after Saudi oil tankers were sabotaged off the coast of the United Arab Emirates.


RUSSIA-USA-LAVROV-POMPEO-INTERFERENCE/

Pompeo tells Russia: Don't meddle in next U.S. presidential election

SOCHI/MOSCOW (Reuters) - U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo told Russia on Tuesday that Washington would brook no interference in the 2020 U.S. presidential election and wanted Moscow to take action to show there would be no repeat of its suspected 2016 meddling.



U.S.


ALASKA-SEAPLANES-CRASH/

Two missing in Alaskan waters after tour planes crash

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (Reuters) - Rescue teams were searching the waters of southeast Alaska for two passengers missing after a pair of sightseeing planes crashed in midair, killing at least four people, the U.S. Coast Guard said on Tuesday.


USA-TRUMP-RUSSIA-DURHAM/

U.S. attorney general launches fresh review of origins of Russia probe

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - U.S. Attorney General William Barr is working with top intelligence officials and a senior federal prosecutor on at least the third inquiry to date into the origins of the Mueller probe of President Donald Trump and Russian election meddling, a person familiar with the matter said on Tuesday.


BUSINESS


COMCAST-HULU/

Disney takes control of Hulu to challenge Netflix, Amazon

Walt Disney Co said it will take full control of the Hulu service in a deal with Comcast Corp, as it vies for a bigger piece of the global video streaming market dominated by companies such as Netflix Inc.


UBER-CONTRACTORS/

Uber drivers are contractors, not employees, U.S. labor agency says

A U.S. labor agency has concluded that ride-hailing company Uber Technologies Inc’s drivers are independent contractors and not its employees, which could prevent them from joining unions.


ENTERTAINMENT


FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES-OPENING-CEREMONY/

Tilda Swinton, Selena Gomez swap zombies for Cannes red carpet

CANNES, France (Reuters) - Pop royalty mingled with screen stars at Cannes on Tuesday, with the eclectic cast of zombie movie “The Dead Don’t Die” leading the glamor on the red carpet as the film festival got underway on the French Riviera.


AWARDS-MTV/

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg gets 'best fight' MTV Movie award nod

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg scored nominations on Tuesday for the 2019 MTV Movie and TV awards, where she will compete for top honors with blockbuster offerings “Game of Thrones” and “Avengers: Endgame.”



SPORTS


BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-MIL-PREVIEW/

Rested Bucks ready for Raptors

Depth could make the difference when the well-rested Milwaukee Bucks host the opener of the Eastern Conference finals Wednesday night against the Toronto Raptors, who were extended to the last possible second before winning a dramatic seventh game Sunday.


GOLF-PGACHAMP-WOODS/

Woods 'rested and ready' for PGA Championship after month off

FARMINGDALE, N.Y. (Reuters) - Tiger Woods walked into the media interview room at the PGA Championship on Tuesday morning clutching a cup of hot coffee on a cool New York morning.



UPCOMING


POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS


USA-ELECTION/POLL

Democratic presidential primary poll - Reuters/Ipsos

The Reuters/Ipsos poll will release its monthly poll that measures support for the 23 candidates running for the Democratic presidential nomination. It will also include a measurement of how many people are familiar (and unfamiliar) with the candidates.

May 15


CHINA-POLITICS/XI (PIX) (TV)

Chinese President Xi speaks at a forum on cultural dialog

President Xi Jinping speaks at a forum in Beijing on Asian cultural dialog.

15 May 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT


BRITAIN-EU/BARCLAY (TV)

Brexit minister Stephen Barclay questioned by members of the House of Lords

Brexit minister Stephen Barclay is questioned by the House of Lords EU Committee about the next steps on Brexit, including talks with Labour and what options will be put to parliament if an agreement cannot be reached.

15 May 06:10 ET / 10:10 GMT


USA-IRAN/IRAQ (PIX)

U.S. ramps up pressure on Iraq over Iran proxies, sanctions

The United States last week issued Iraq an ultimatum: control Iran-backed militias or we will do it for you. Iraq is becoming the main arena where Washington and Tehran are facing off as Trump ratchets up sanctions pressure.

May 15


VENEZUELA-POLITICS/HEALTH (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE - Venezuela dialysis patients face uncertain fate after power cuts

Venezuelan kidney patients in the city of Maracaibo struggle to obtain dialysis treatment due to chronic blackouts, leaving many suffering from debilitating pain and worried about their long-term health.

15 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Weekly Austrian cabinet meeting

15 May 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT


BRITAIN-EU/MAY (PIX)

UK PM May due to meet 1922 Committee

British Prime Minister Theresa May is under pressure to give a date for her resignation at a meeting of the 1922 Committee on Wednesday.

May 15


USA-TRUMP/CONGRESS-JUDICIARY

US House panel holds hearing on executive privilege and Congress

Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives, faced with a White House campaign to stonewall multiple congressional oversight investigations of President Donald Trump, hold a hearing on the legal principle of executive privilege that Trump is using to block their efforts to obtain the full, unredacted report on Special Counsel Robert Mueller's 22-month probe of Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential campaign and to press forward with their own obstruction of justice investigation against the president.

15 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT



DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS


QUAKE-PAPUA

Magnitude 7.5 quake hits off Papua New Guinea, tsunami warning lifted

A strong, shallow earthquake hit near Rabaul in Papua New Guinea's remote New Britain island on Tuesday, rattling the city as residents slept.

May 15


ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE/FAA

FAA, NTSB heads testify on the status of the Boeing 737 Max

The acting Federal Aviation Administration Administrator, Daniel Elwell and National Transportation Safety Board Chair Robert Sumwalt testify before a House subcommittee in hearing titled, "Status of the Boeing 737 Max."

15 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT



CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE


USA-CRIME/CULT

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York on charges including engaging in sex trafficking and child exploitation as the leader of a secretive organization called Nxivm.

15 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT



BUSINESS / ECONOMICS


USA-FED/DALY

San Francisco Federal Reserve Bank President Daly speaks at Northwestern University event

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco President Mary Daly speaks before the Northwestern University School of Education & Social Policy Loeschner Leadership Series, in Evanston, Ill.

14 May 18:00 ET / 22:00 GMT


LEBANON-ECONOMY/ (TV)

Lebanon cabinet meets to discuss 2019 draft budget

Lebanese ministers are set to convene in two sessions, in the afternoon and late at night, to continue debating the 2019 state draft budget.

May 15


INVESTMENT-FUNDS/

13F Hedge Fund Filings

The world's most powerful money managers and hedge-fund investors ranging from Seth Klarman's Baupost Group and Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway to Bill Ackman's Pershing Square Capital Management and David Einhorn’s Greenlight Capital say which U.S. stocks they held at the end of the first quarter via 13F SEC filings, shedding light on how they positioned their portfolios amid the lingering U.S.-China trade war.

May 15


FRANCE-GRAINS/FRANCEAGRIMER (PIX)

French grain supply/demand outlook

Farming agency FranceAgriMer issues monthly supply and demand forecasts for major cereal crops. Focus on revisions to wheat export and stock projections for the EU's biggest grain producing country, as the end of the 2018/19 season approaches.

May 15


MACY'S-RESULTS/

Macy's Inc Reports First Quarter Results

The department store operator is expected to post a fall in quarterly same-store sales hurt by a late start spring that led shoppers spend more on discounted winter apparel over their spring/summer line-up.

15 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT


USA-FED/QUARLES (PIX)

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles, bank regulators testify before Senate Banking Committee

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles testifies on "Supervision and Regulation" before the Senate Banking Committee, in Washington. Quarles testifies alongside other top bank regulatory officials to update Congress on their agendas.

15 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT


SUEDZUCKER-SUGAR/FRANCE

French farmers to submit takeover offer for two sugar

actories due to be closed by German refiner Suedzucker French sugar beet farmers to present plan to Suedzucker at a meeting in Strasbourg. The farmers are trying to avert the closure of two French production sites, part of wider restructuring by Suedzucker in the face of a downturn on the European sugar market.

May 15


HSBC-ASIA/

HSBC Chairman Tucker speaking at annual China conference

HSBC Chairman Mark Tucker speaks at the bank's annual China conference in Shenzhen

15 May 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT


AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/WAGES

Australia-Wage inflation

Australia wage data for Q1 are forecast to show only another modest rise of 0.6% in the quarter, leaving the annual pace at a sluggish 2.3%. Without a m marked pick up in wages growth to lift inflation, the RBA will remain under pressure to cut interest rates to recrod lows.

15 May 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT


NORWAY-CHINA/

China's Li Zhanshu visits Norway in first high-profile visit since full diplomatic relations restored

The head of the Chinese People's Congress, Li Zhanshu, the third-most important Chinese leader, is in Norway for a four-day state visit. It is the first visit by a Chinese leader since the resumption of full diplomatic relations between Oslo and Beijing in 2016. Between 2010 and 2016, diplomatic ties were frozen after the Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded the Nobel Peace Prize to Liu Xiaobo.

May 15


ZIMBABWE-POWER/MINING (PIX)

Zimbabwe's big mines say will ride out worst power cuts in three years

Zimbabwe's big platinum and gold mining companies are importing their own power, cushioning operations against the worst blackouts in three years. But questions remain about how long they can rely on imports without hurting their bottom line.

May 15


TESLA-SOLAR/

At Tesla's solar factory, most cells aren't destined for Tesla - document

The "great majority" of solar cells being produced at Tesla's factory in upstate New York are being sold overseas instead of being used in the company's trademark "Solar Roof" as originally intended, according to documents reviewed by Reuters.

15 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT



ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT


BRITAIN-FOOD/EXHIBITION (TV)

London exhibition feeds our fascination with food

A London exhibition takes visitors on a 'sensory journey through the food cycle', from compost to table.

May 15


FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/THE DEAD DONT DIE (PIX) (TV)

Jim Jarmusch and starry cast present Cannes opening film

Director Jim Jarmusch and the starry cast of his new movie "The Dead Don't Die," including Selena Gomez, Bill Murray, Tilda Swinton and Chloe Sevigny, attend a Cannes news conference a day after the film opened the 72nd edition of the film festival.

May 15


MUSIC-EUROVISION/SEMI FINAL 1 (PIX)

Eurovision first semi-final

May 14


Eurovision first semi-final

15 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT


(PIX) (TV) (GRAPHIC)

FRANCE - BTF non-competitive bids

15 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT