REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 1000 GMT/0600 ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.


TOP STORIES


GLOBAL


USA-IRAN-IRAQ-EMBASSY/

U.S. pulls some government employees from Iraq

BAGHDAD, Iraq - Washington ordered the departure of non-emergency government employees from Iraq on Wednesday, after repeated U.S. expressions of concern about threats from Iranian-backed forces.


SAUDI-OIL-USA-IRAN/

Saudi oil facilities attacked, U.S. sees threat in Iraq from Iran-backed forces

RIYADH/DUBAI - Saudi Arabia said armed drones struck two of its oil pumping stations on Tuesday, two days after the sabotage of oil tankers near the United Arab Emirates, and the U.S. military said it was braced for “possibly imminent threats to U.S. forces in Iraq” from Iran-backed forces.


U.S.


USA-ABORTION-ALABAMA/

Alabama Senate bans nearly all abortions, including rape cases

Alabama’s state Senate passed a bill on Tuesday to outlaw nearly all abortions, creating exceptions only to protect the mother’s health, as part of a multistate effort to have the U.S. Supreme Court reconsider a woman’s constitutional right to an abortion.


ALASKA-SEAPLANES-CRASH/

Search for victims ends after mid-air crash of Alaska tour planes; probe begins

ANCHORAGE, Alaska - Searchers found the bodies of the last two Alaska seaplane crash victims on Tuesday evening, after a hunt through the debris and frigid waters following a mid-air collision that killed six people and injured 10, officials said.


BUSINESS


USA-TRADE-CHINA-OPTIONS/

No easy options for China as trade war, U.S. pressure bite

BEIJING - China is running out of options to hit back at the United States without hurting its own interests, as Washington intensifies pressure on Beijing to correct trade imbalances in a challenge to China’s state-led economic model.


TENCENT-RESULTS/

Tencent first quarter profit rises 17 percent, beats forecast

HONG KONG - Tencent Holdings reported on Wednesday a 17% rise in profit for the three months ended March, beating estimates.


ENTERTAINMENT


MUSIC-EUROVISION-ISRAEL/

Israel's Eurovision webcast hacked with animated blast images

TEL AVIV - Israel’s webcast of the Eurovision Song Contest semi-final was hacked with animated images of explosions in host city Tel Aviv, which the national broadcaster blamed on Hamas militants.


BRITAIN-ITV-JEREMYKYLE/

UK's ITV cancels 'Jeremy Kyle Show' after death of a participant

LONDON - British broadcaster ITV has canceled “The Jeremy Kyle Show”, a tabloid talkshow that features confrontations between guests over issues like sex and addiction, after a participant was found dead a week after recording the program.


SPORTS


USA-BOXING-PULEV/

Bulgarian boxer suspended in California for kissing broadcaster

LOS ANGELES - A Bulgarian boxer who grabbed a female broadcaster’s face and kissed her on the lips during a post-fight interview was suspended until July by the California State Athletic Commission on Tuesday following tearful testimony by the interviewer.


ICEHOCKEY-NHL-STL-SJS-PREVIEW/

Sharks face familiar scenario in Game 3 at St. Louis

The comforting factor for the San Jose Sharks is they’ve been here before. “Been there, done that” always provides a calming feeling for professional athletes.


UPCOMING


POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS


BRITAIN-EU/BARCLAY (TV)

Brexit minister Stephen Barclay questioned by members of the House of Lords

Brexit minister Stephen Barclay is questioned by the House of Lords EU Committee about the next steps on Brexit, including talks with Labour and what options will be put to parliament if an agreement cannot be reached.

15 May 06:10 ET / 10:10 GMT


VENEZUELA-POLITICS/HEALTH (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE - Venezuela dialysis patients face uncertain fate after power cuts

Venezuelan kidney patients in the city of Maracaibo struggle to obtain dialysis treatment due to chronic blackouts, leaving many suffering from debilitating pain and worried about their long-term health.

15 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


BRITIAN-NEWZEALAND/

British PM Theresa May holds bilateral with New Zealand PM Jacinda Ardern

Bilateral meeting in Paris.

15 May 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT


USA-TRUMP/CONGRESS-JUDICIARY (PIX)

US House panel holds hearing on executive privilege and Congress

Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives, faced with a White House campaign to stonewall multiple congressional oversight investigations of President Donald Trump, hold a hearing on the legal principle of executive privilege that Trump is using to block their efforts to obtain the full, unredacted report on Special Counsel Robert Mueller's 22-month probe of Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential campaign and to press forward with their own obstruction of justice investigation against the president.

15 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT


TURKEY-IRAQ/ (PIX) (TV)

Turkey's Erdogan holds news conference with Iraqi prime minister

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan hosts Iraqi Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi at the presidential palace (1400 GMT) and hold a joint news conference (1600 GMT).

15 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT


FINLAND-COUNCIL OF EUROPE/

Foreign ministers to discuss challenges facing 70-year-old Council of Europe

Foreign ministers of the Council of Europe’s 47 member States will hold their annual meeting on 16 and 17 May 2019 in Helsinki, to discuss the future of the organization which is currently facing a number of challenges.

16 May


DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS


ETHIOPIA-AIRPLANE/FAA (PIX)

FAA, NTSB heads testify on the status of the Boeing 737 Max on Capitol Hill

The acting Federal Aviation Administration Administrator, Daniel Elwell and National Transportation Safety Board Chair Robert Sumwalt testify before a House subcommittee in hearing titled, "Status of the Boeing 737 Max."

15 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT


AFRICA-CYCLONE/AID

In Mozambique city, cyclone victims angry about food aid

In a camp in Mozambique's port city of Beira, residents complain about food distributions two months after Cyclone Idai.

16 May


CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE


USA-CRIME/CULT

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York on charges including engaging in sex trafficking and child exploitation as the leader of a secretive organization called Nxivm.

15 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT


COLORADO-SHOOTING/ (PIX)

Teens accused of deadly Colorado school shooting set to be charged

Two teenagers accused of killing a classmate and wounding eight others in a shooting rampage at a Denver-area charter school last week were due back in court on Wednesday for the formal filing of charges.

15 May 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT


TENNESSEE-EXECUTION/

Tennessee to execute Donnie Johnson, convicted of killing wife

Tennessee is scheduled to execute Donnie Johnson who was convicted of killing his wife.

16 May


BUSINESS / ECONOMICS


SOUTHWEST-AGM/ (PIX)

Southwest, largest 737 MAX operator, faces shareholders at annual meeting

Southwest Airlines, one of the largest operators of Boeing's grounded 737 jets, meets with shareholders at its annual general meeting on Wednesday, followed by a question and answer with media to discuss the state of the airline and where it is heading.

15 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT


MACY'S-RESULTS/

Macy's Inc Reports First Quarter Results

The department store operator is expected to post a fall in quarterly same-store sales hurt by a late start spring that led shoppers spend more on discounted winter apparel over their spring/summer line-up. Being the first of the department store chains to report, investors and analysts will be keeping an eye out for the appetite of consumer spending. Analysts will also be on the look out for more details from the company on its restructuring program to save millions in cost.

15 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT


USA-FED/BARKIN

Richmond Federal Reserve Bank President Barkin speaks before economics group

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond President Thomas Barkin speaks on "Sentiment and the Real Economy" before the New York Association for Business Economics, in New York.

15 May 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT


USA-FED/QUARLES (PIX)

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles, bank regulators testify before Senate Banking Committee

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles testifies on "Supervision and Regulation" before the Senate Banking Committee, in Washington. Quarles testifies alongside other top bank regulatory officials to update Congress on their agendas.

15 May 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT


ALIBABA-RESULTS/ (PIX)

China's Alibaba reports fourth quarter and full-year results

Alibaba Group Holding Ltd, China's top e-commerce company, will report results for its fourth quarter and full year on May 15.

15 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


SYNTHETIC-PROTEIN/NEWZEALAND (PIX)

Omega lambs and fitbit cows: New Zealand responds to threat of alternative proteins

In the Canterbury region of New Zealand's scenic South Island, a painstakingly bred flock of lambs is grazing - not on regular grass - but on a field of herbs selected to unlock the animals' omega 3 content before their meat is shipped to high-end restaurants in Hong Kong and London. The animals, known as 'Te Mana lambs', are one in a series of attempts by the island nation to future-proof its agricultural industries as it grapples with the looming threat of substitutes to meat and dairy based on synthetic proteins or plant-based alternatives.

16 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT


TESLA-SOLAR/

EXCLUSIVE-Tesla's solar factory is exporting most of its cells - document

The "great majority" of solar cells being produced at Tesla's factory in upstate New York are being sold overseas instead of being used in the company's trademark "Solar Roof" as originally intended, according to documents reviewed by Reuters.

15 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT


AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/EMPLOYMENT

Australia employment report for April

ABS data on employment, after a solid March report, April is forecast to show a modest rise of 14,000, with the jobless rate ticking up to 5.1%. The report will be closely watched in market given the RBA has signaled that any weakness in the formerly resilient labor market could lead to a cut in interest rates.

16 May 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT


BAMBOOAIRWAYS-STRATEGY/ (PIX) (TV)

FOCUS-Birdies on a plane: Vietnam's Bamboo airways banks on golf resorts for success

As Vietnam's aviation sector booms and passenger numbers rise at double-digit rates, local upstart Bamboo Airways is teeing up what it hopes will be a novel way of standing out in a crowded market: Golf.

16 May 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT


FRANCE-TECH/ (TV)

France's biggest yearly tech conference Viva Tech takes place in Paris

VivaTech, which showcases startups and leaders from the world of technology and innovation, runs in Paris on 16–18 May 2019.

16 May


AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/RBA

RBA Assistant Gov Bullock speaks in Sydney

Speech by Michele Bullock, RBA Assistant Governor (Financial System) ASIC Annual Forum

16 May 22:45 ET / 02:45 GMT


KAZAKHSTAN-IMF/

IMF's Christine Lagarde visits Kazakhstan

International Monetary Fund Managing Director Christine Lagarde visits Kazakhstan

16 May


LUCKINCOFFEE-IPO/

Starbucks' China rival Luckin prices U.S. IPO

Luckin Coffee Inc, the Chinese challenger to Starbucks, is due to price its U.S. initial public offering.

16 May


NORWAY-CHINA/

China's Li Zhanshu visits Norway in first high-profile visit since full diplomatic relations restored

The head of the Chinese People's Congress, Li Zhanshu, the third-most important Chinese leader, is in Norway for a four-day state visit. It is the first visit by a Chinese leader since the resumption of full diplomatic relations between Oslo and Beijing in 2016. Between 2010 and 2016, diplomatic ties were frozen after the Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded the Nobel Peace Prize to Liu Xiaobo.

16 May


ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT


FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/BACURAU PREMIERE (PIX) (TV)

Brazilian film 'Bacurau' screens in competition in Cannes

"Bacurau," directed by Kleber Mendonca Filho and Juliano Dornelles, receives its world premiere at the Cannes Film Festival.

15 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT


FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES/BACURAU (PIX) (TV)

Brazilian film 'Bacurau' presented at Cannes

"Bacurau" directors Kleber Mendonca Filho and Juliano Dornelles and cast, including Udo Kier and Sonia Braga, attend a Cannes news conference.

16 May


MUSIC-EUROVISION/FANS (PIX) (TV)

Eurovision fans gear up for second semi-final kickoff

16 May