REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.


TOP STORIES


SPORTS


GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Resurgent Woods heads to PGA with Nicklaus record back in play

Tiger Woods proved many doubters wrong with his triumph at last month’s Masters, where he not only completed a comeback story for the ages but also put Jack Nicklaus’s record of 18 major titles back into play.

ATHLETICS-JAPAN-RELAYS/

Brazil stun U.S. in 4x100m final on day of upsets at IAAF World Relays

(Reuters) - Paulo Andre Camilo de Oliveira powered Brazil to victory in the men’s 4x100m event at the IAAF World Relays in Yokohama, Japan, on Sunday as they finished ahead of a strong United States quartet and world champions Britain.


ICEHOCKEY-NHL-STL-SJS/

NHL: Meier, Couture power Sharks past Blues in Game 1

With all the hype and expectations that come from being a top-10 pick in the NHL draft, some would feel it’s been a slow process for Timo Meier to become an impact player.

UPCOMING

SPORTS


SOCCER-ITALY-SPA-NAP/ (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - SPAL v Napoli

SPAL host Napoli in a Serie A match

12 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-GIR-LVT/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Girona v Levante

Girona face Levante in a huge game for both side's hopes of avoiding relegation from La Liga.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-ATM-SEV/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Atletico Madrid v Sevilla

Atletico Madrid host Sevilla in La Liga, with Sevilla still clinging to the hope of getting back into the top four.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-CDF/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester United v Cardiff City

Manchester United face Cardiff City in the Premier League.

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-CRY-BOU/REPORT

Soccer - England - Premier League - Crystal Palace v Bournemouth

Crystal Palace take on Bournemouth

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-BELGIUM/ (PIX)

Soccer - League title could be decided in Belgium

The league in Belgium title can be settled on Sunday when Racing Genk host Club Brugge. Victory will hand Genk the title for the first time since 2011, while a draw would leave them just one point away with two games left to play. If Brugge win, they cut Genk’s lead to three points and keep the race alive

12 May 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-VAL-ALV/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Valencia v Alaves

Valencia host Alaves hoping to barge their way into the top four in La Liga.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-CHINA/

Soccer-Beijing look to continue winning run against Shenzhen

Chinese Super League leaders Beijing Guoan host newly promoted Shenzhen FC aiming to maintain their perfect start to the 2019 campaign as defending champions Shanghai SIPG face fourth-placed Shandong Luneng.

12 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-WORLDCUP-USA-ZAF/

Soccer-USA continues World Cup prep against South Africa

The United States enter the final phase of their run up to the women's World Cup with a friendly against South Africa.

12 May 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

SOCCER-BRAZIL-INL-CRZ/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Brasileiro Championship - Internacional v Cruzeiro

Brasileiro Championship - Internacional v Cruzeiro

12 May 17:30 ET / 21:30 GMT

SOCCER-BRAZIL-AMN-PAL/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Brasileiro Championship - Atletico Mineiro v Palmeiras

Brasileiro Championship - Atletico Mineiro v Palmeiras

12 May 17:30 ET / 21:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-SPA-NAP/REPORT

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - SPAL v Napoli

SPAL host Napoli in a Serie A match

12 May 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-FCB-GET/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Barcelona v Getafe

Barcelona host Getafe in La Liga.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-PORTUGAL/

Soccer - Portugal - Primeira Liga title race round-up

Primeira Liga leaders Benfica visit Rio Ave on the penultimate weekend of the season, while nearest challengers Porto, two points behind, visit Nacional.

12 May 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

SOCCER-NETHERLANDS/ (PIX)

Soccer - Dutch league reaches penultimate stage

Ajax Amsterdam lead defending champions PSV Eindhoven on goal difference only in the race for the Dutch championship as they play their penultimate games of the season. Ajax are home to Utrecht, needing to set aside the trauma of Champions League elimination in midweek, while PSV have a difficult game away at fourth placed AZ Alkmaar.

12 May 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-TOT-EVE/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur v Everton

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LEI-CHE/REPORT

Soccer - England - Premier League - Leicester City v Chelsea

Leicester City host Chelsea with the visitors looking to seal third spot

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-SOC-MAD/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Real Sociedad v Real Madrid

Real Madrid visit Real Sociedad in La Liga.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-ROM-JUV/REPORT

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - AS Roma v Juventus

AS Roma host Juventus in a Serie A match

12 May 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LIV-WLV/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Liverpool v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Liverpool must beat Wolverhampton Wanderers to keep their hopes alive of winning the Premier League title on the final day of the season.

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRH-MCI/ (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Brighton & Hove Albion v Manchester City

Manchester City travel to Brighton & Hove Albion knowing victory will secure their second-successive Premier League title.

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-BRAZIL-FLA-CHP/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Brasileiro Championship - Flamengo v Chapecoense

Brasileiro Championship - Flamengo v Chapecoense

12 May 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-FUL-NEW/REPORT

Soccer - England - Premier League - Fulham v Newcastle

Relegated Fulham host Newcastle United

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-FRANCE-LIL-BOR/ (PIX)

Soccer - France - Ligue 1 - Lille v Bordeaux

Lille play Bordeaux in Ligue 1.

12 May 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BUR-ARS/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Burnley v Arsenal

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-WAT-WHU/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Watford v West Ham United

12 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/

Soccer- Five talking points from the weekend in La Liga

Five talking points from the weekend in La Liga.

13 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND/

Talking points from the Premier League weekend

Five talking points from the Premier League weekend.

13 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY/

Soccer - Italy - Five-talking points from the Serie A weekend

Five talking-points from the weekend's Serie A matches

13 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Golf - PGA Championship Monday

Lucas Glover speaks to the media at Bethpage Black, where he won the U.S. Open in 2009.

13 May

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Golf - PGA Championship: Spieth searching to regain old magic

Jordan Spieth will have a third opportunity to complete the career grand slam at the PGA Championship next week, but his game is a far cry from the form that had him ranked third in the world as recently as this time last year.

13 May

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Golf - PGA Championship: Bethpage Black a stout test

Bethpage Black, a stout par-70 that stretches for 7459 yards on rolling Long Island land, proved a beast when it hosted the U.S. Open in 2002 and 2009, but scoring might be slightly easier at this week's PGA Championship.

13 May

GOLF-PGACHAMP/

Golf - Resurgent Woods puts Nicklaus' major record back in play

Master champion Tiger Woods, who has not competed since collecting his 15th major championship last month at Augusta National, will get his next chance to chip away at Jack Nicklaus' record of 18 majors when he tees it up at the May 16-19 PGA Championship.

12 May 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

TENNIS-ROME/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Italian Open

Action from round one of the Italian Open - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

13 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

TENNIS-ROME/

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Italian Open

Action from round one of the Italian Open - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event in Rome.

13 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

TENNIS-MADRID/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Madrid Open

World number one Novaj Djokovic faces Stefanos Tsitsipas in the final of the Madrid Open, after the 20-year-old Greek continued his remarkable rise by beating Rafael Nadal in the last four.

12 May 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

CRICKET-INDIA/IPL

Cricket-IPL final in Hyderabad

Hyderabad's Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium will host the final of this year's tournament.

12 May 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT