Rod Brind’Amour wins Jack Adams Award

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Carolina Hurricanes coach Rod Brind’Amour is the winner of the 2020-21 Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s coach of the year, the league announced on Thursday evening.

Brind’Amour won the award by a significant margin, earning 61 first-place votes.

Minnesota’s Dean Evason, the runner-up, received only 24 first-place votes.

Voting for the Jack Adams Award is conducted by the league’s broadcasters.

Thursday’s result caps off a pretty significant 24 hours for the Hurricanes coach, as he not only takes him the top honor for NHL coaches, but he also agreed to a new three-year contract extension earlier in the day.

[Related: Hurricanes, Brind’Amour agree to three-year contract extension]

Brind’Amour just completed his third season with the Hurricanes and has led them to the Stanley Cup Playoffs each season, advancing to at least the Second Round in two of those seasons. That includes the 2020-21 season where they defeated the Nashville Predators in the First Round before losing to the Tampa Bay Lightning. In his debut season they advanced all the way to the Eastern Conference Final.

During the 2020-21 season the Hurricanes won the NHL’s Central Division, their first division title since the 2005-06 season (when Brind’Amour still played for the team), and were also the only team in the league to finish in the top-three in power play and penalty kill.

He is the first coach in the history of the Hartford Whalers/Hurricanes franchise to win the award.

It also adds to Brind’Amour’s personal trophy collection which also includes two Selke Trophies during his playing days, as well as Stanley Cup during the 2005-06 season that he won as a member of the Hurricanes.

Here are the complete voting results for the 2020-21 Jack Adams Award.

2021 NHL Award finalists, winners:

King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner: Pekka Rinne; other finalists: Kurtis Gabriel, P.K. Subban
Bill Masterton Trophy winner: Oskar Lindblom; other finalists: Matt Dumba, Patrick Marleau
Jack Adams Award winner: Rod Brind’Amour; other finalists: Dean Evason, Joel Quenneville

Vezina Trophy: Marc-Andre Fleury, Philipp Grubauer, Andrei Vasilevskiy
Ted Lindsay Award: Sidney Crosby, Auston Matthews, Connor McDavid
Calder Memorial Trophy: Kirill Kaprizov, Alex Nedeljkovic, Jason Robertson

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Auston Matthews, Jaccob Slavin, Jared Spurgeon
Selke Trophy: Aleksander Barkov, Patrice Bergeron, Mark Stone
Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Renee Hess, Kevin Hodgson, Howard Smith
Norris Trophy: Adam Fox, Victor Hedman, Cale Makar
Hart Trophy: Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Nathan MacKinnon

More NHL News

The Wraparound: Expect a better Game 3 from Islanders’ gem Pelech Matthews, Hedman, Avs’ Reverse Retros top 2020-21 NHLPA Player Poll Rod Brind’Amour agrees to 3-year extension with Hurricanes

Adam Gretz is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @AGretz.

Rod Brind’Amour wins Jack Adams Award originally appeared on

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting