Schools & Students published April 27, 2021

Donna Middleton, West Central Tribune, Willmar, Minn.
·2 min read

Apr. 27—Creative Writing Contest

The Creative Writing Contest, a partnership between the Southwest West Central Service Cooperative and the Southwest Minnesota State University Creative Writing Department, was created to encourage a love of language and writing for all students and as a way to recognize the talented young writers in this region. The contest is open to students in grades 3-12 attending public, private or home schools. Each student may submit up to three entries in each category: poetry, fiction and non-fiction. There were 162 entries received, from 110 students. Students from the West Central Tribune area that placed were:


* Grades 3-4: First place, Emma Fosso, Raymond

* Grades 7-8: Third place, Madeline Prentice, New London

* Grades 9-10: First and second places, Eavan Bobbe, Willmar


* Grades 5-6: First and second places, Lindsey Setrum, Raymond

* Grades 7-8: First place, Evie Simpson, New London

* Grades 11-12: Second and third places, Sydney Damhof, Prinsburg

MMTA piano contest

The Minnesota Music Teachers Association conducted its annual preliminary and finals competitions for the state piano contest this year virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Students prepared a piano solo from a list of selected pieces and competed in the preliminary round with the winners advancing to the finals competition for the chance to participate in a virtual honors concert on June 5. All are students of Georgia Hanson of Montevideo and Megan Gilles of Willmar. The winners are:

Junior A: Arianna Gilles, Willmar; Paityn Wolf, Willmar; Jovial Martinez, Willmar; and Graysen Dirksen, Maynard

Junior B: Hailey Jurgenson, Willmar; Annaliese Wood, Willmar; and Julia Mages, Montevideo

Intermediate A: Tristan Boehme, Kandiyohi; and Jaden Dirksen, Maynard

Mount Mercy University

Graduating at the end of fall semester from the Cedar Rapids, Iowa, school was:

Danube: Kaylee Bratsch

University of Mary

Graduation ceremonies for the 2020 and 2021 graduates at the Bismarck, North Dakota, school were held April 24. Students that graduated in 2020 are marked with an asterisk. Bachelor's degrees were awarded unless otherwise noted.

Glenwood: Jenna Janu, master's of business administration; Ryan Stottler*, master's of science

Litchfield: Alyssa Raiber, doctor of occupational therapy

Madison: Jordan Halvorson*, doctor of physical therapy

Pennock: Kailey Van Eps, doctor of occupational therapy

Starbuck: Grace Worner