Schools & Students published Nov. 8, 2022

Nov. 8—The National FFA Convention was Oct. 26-29 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Minnesota FFA current state officers participated in the pre-convention delegate committee process. The delegates deliberated the issues and presented their resolutions for the National FFA Organization to consider their implementation in the following committees: Delegate Voice Equalization; Strengthening Workforce Connection; Conduct Standards Implementation; Agricultural Education Delivery Empowerment; Membership Experience Improvement; and SAE and AFNR Alignment.

Area students participating were Natalie Beckendorf of Renville County West FFA, Brynn Lozinski of MACCRAY FFA and Noah Erickson of Morris Area FFA.

Agri Science Fair Competition: Olivia Noble of Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg was a national finalist in the Power, Structural and Technical Systems — Division III class.

American degree awards: The National FFA honors members through various levels of degrees, with the American level being the highest, demonstrating the effort FFA members apply toward their supervised agricultural experience and the outstanding leadership abilities and community involvement they exhibited through their FFA career. Less than one percent of FFA members earn the American degree. Area students receiving the degree, listed by chapter, were:

* Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City: Taylor Fester, Wilson Gratz, Hattie Kragenbring, Ethan Melberg, Ryan Peterson, Kari Schultz, Karla Schultz, Daniel Williamson, Darrin Williamson

* Benson: Larissa Overlie

* Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg: Lauren Krieger, Hunter Wilts

* Litchfield: Joseph Carlson

* New London-Spicer: Landin Brink, Olivia Gabrielson, Haley Van Nurden

* Redwood Valley: Colby Schroeder

Named to the spring semester dean's list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the University of Minnesota school in Duluth were:

Benson: Caleb Heidelberger, Samantha Carlson

Brooten: Kendra Schmitz

Darwin: Meredith Girard, Calais Williams

Echo: Julia Redner

Glenwood: Joshua Curry, Avery Hoeper

Granite Falls: Cherish Hammer, Madison Hinz

Litchfield: Kelsey Ballard, Emma Dewolf, Kylie Ehlers, Kal Jackman, Ellery Jones, Kristen Jones, Zachary Kaizer, Janessa Olson

Maynard: Jessica Wellnitz

Murdock: Jonathan Tostenson

New London: Madeline Bisek, Kaitlyn Quenemoen, Suzanne Schneider

Olivia: Hanna Larson, Lucas Ryan, Morgan Schmitz

Paynesville: Taylor Soine, Victoria Soine

Sacred Heart: Alyssa Ashburn

Spicer: Brady Olson, Hunter Paffrath

Willmar: Jacob Anderson, Josh Miley, Peyton Rodelius, Christopher Wright

Named to receive a scholarship at the Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, New York, recently was:

Litchfield: Matthew Pofahl