Sheriff's office adds seven new deputies

Ryan Marshall, The Frederick News-Post, Md.
·1 min read

Apr. 5—Seven new deputies joined the Frederick County Sheriff's Office last week, the office announced Friday.

Madison Engels, Tyler Haldeman, Brooks Keller, William Mayhew, Austin Petry, Benjamin Seiss and Jacob Sewell recently completed their academy training and will begin field training and a probationary period before beginning their solo patrol duties.

At the academy, the recruits studied topics including legal issues of search and seizure, de-escalation, dealing with people experiencing a mental health crisis, firearms, use of force and Maryland criminal and vehicle law.

Petry won the physical fitness award for the entire academy, sheriff's office spokesman Todd Wivell said in an email.

The deputies will have to complete about 480 hours of field training, Wivell said.

The additions bring the office to 187 sworn officers.

Follow Ryan Marshall on Twitter: @RMarshallFNP