South Sudan Leaders Agree on 10 States, Paving Way For Peace

Samuel Gebre

(Bloomberg) -- South Sudan leaders agreed to return the country to a system of 10 states and three administrative areas, removing a key hurdle for “peace and unity in the country,“ the presidency said.

The new system will be implemented immediately, the presidency said in a statement Saturday in the capital, Juba.

The agreement comes days before a Feb. 22 deadline to form a unified administration between the existing governmnet and rebels opposed to President Salva Kiir’s rule. A previous proposal had called for South Sudan to have 32 states.

To contact the reporter on this story: Samuel Gebre in Addis Ababa at

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Gordon Bell at, Paul Richardson

For more articles like this, please visit us at

Subscribe now to stay ahead with the most trusted business news source.

©2020 Bloomberg L.P.