Sri Lanka puts visa on arrival program on hold

Over 250,000 Britons visited Sri Lanka in 2018, making it the third-highest source of tourism behind India and China.

Following the Easter weekend attacks in Sri Lanka, the country has suspended its new visa on arrival scheme for tourists from over 30 countries, initially due to be implemented from May 1.

Visitors from 39 countries -- including the US, Canada, Australia and France -- were due to benefit from on-arrival visas, free of charge, when entering Sri Lanka from May 1. In light of the recent attacks and the current security situation, the country's Tourism Minister announced the suspension of the program until further notice. 

Travelers scheduled to visit Sri Lanka from May 1 will, therefore, have to take the necessary steps to obtain an electronic travel authorization. This can be obtained online at at a cost of $35.