Penn's AJ Steenbeke and Glenn coach Andy King earn top NIC wrestling honors

AJ Steenbeke
AJ Steenbeke

AJ Steenbeke of Penn and coach Andy King of John Glenn earned top honors from the Northern Indiana Conference for the 2022-23 prep wrestling season.

Senior Steenbeke earned the NIC MVP after helping the Kingsmen claim the league title. Steenbeke was individual NIC champion at 160.

King was named NIC Coach of the Year by his peers as Glenn placed fifth in the NIC Tournament.

MoreNew Prairie claims first wrestling sectional title since 2014

Earning first-team honors were Aden Hartman of Jimtown (106), Ryann Schmidtendorff of Penn (113), Dylan Bennett of Penn (120), Bentley Whitmer of Glenn (126), Mikey Kallimani of Jimtown (132), Jeffrey Huyvaert of New Prairie (138), Jayden Lewis of New Prairie (145), Hayden Whitenack of New Prairie (152), Steenbeke (160), Zymarion Hollyfield of Penn (170), Vinny Freeman of Penn (182), Neil Johnson of New Prairie (195), John Aranowski of Saint Joseph (220) and Brayden Jellison of Elkhart (285).

Andy King
Andy King

The second-team includes Genesis Ramirez of Elkhart (106), Brody King of Glenn (113), Walter Drews of Glenn (120), Braden Ashe of Penn (126), Cam Dews of Elkhart (132), Wesley Harper of Penn (138), Evan Eutsey of Penn (145), Jamaiel Lowe of Riley (152), Conner Watts of Jimtown (160), Ethan Freedline of Elkhart (170), Kaullin Price of Elkhart (182), Nash Shupert of Elkhart (195), Clayton Deutscher of New Prairie (220) and Peyton Kendall of Penn (285).

The honorable mention list includes Caleb Halfacre of New Prairie (106), Josh Corona of Elkhart (113), Grant Beery of Bremen (120), Preston Hammond of New Prairie (126), Reece Greene of Bremen (132), Brennon Whickcar of Elkhart (138), Cohen Lundy of Elkhart (145), Leonardo Santiago of Penn (152), Kaden Rogers of Jimtown (152), Marques Young of Riley (160), Mason Kobelt of Glenn (170), Jeirmi Scales of Riley (182), Josiah Williams of Penn (195), Preston Stimac of Elkhart (220) and Chris Johnson of New Prairie (285).

MoreEmotions run high as Penn nips Mishawaka for wrestling sectional title

Penn totaled 292.5 points to claim the team title of the NIC Tournament. Elkhart was second with 243 points, followed by New Prairie (233.5), Jimtown (176.5), Glenn (166), Riley (113), Bremen (70), Marian (60), Saint Joseph (60), Washington (45), Clay (30) and Adams (26).

This article originally appeared on South Bend Tribune: All-Northern Indiana Conference high school wrestling team