Steph doesn't believe he traveled on questionable call in loss originally appeared on NBC Sports Bayarea
When any NBA game is on the line, referees tend to swallow their whistles and let the players dictate how a game ends.
However, the referees called a crucial travel on Steph Curry with 10.1 seconds to play in the Warriors' 116-113 loss to the Dallas Mavericks on Tuesday at American Airlines Center.
After the game, the Warriors star seemingly disagreed with the call.
"I didn't think it was a travel to the point where you don't let the play run out," Curry told reporters postgame. "But who am I to say?"
Down two, 115-113, with under 20 seconds left, Curry weaved to the 3-point line and was met by Mavericks forward Maxi Kleber.
In an effort to shake Kleber, the 34-year-old lifted his left foot -- which the referees determined was his pivot foot -- and was called for the traveling violation.
After being called for the travel, all Curry could do was smile as he walked back on defense.
"Bang, bang situation," Curry told reporters after the loss. "Dumb play by me to not take the layup. Got a little confused on what the time and the score was, honestly. Went for the hero shot."
Mavericks forward Dorian Finney-Smith had a chance to ice the game. But he only made one of two free throws to give Dallas a 116-113 lead.
With 4.1 seconds left, the Warriors had one final attempt to send the game into overtime but Klay Thompson missed the open 3-pointer off the front of the rim.
After the game, Warriors coach Steve Kerr said that the NBA needs to be consistent in calling travels, especially with the game on the line and if the league wants to focus on travels specifically.
"It's going to be really interesting to see, if we're going to call that now, we got to call it all the time because it happens 30 times a game, guys change pivot feet," Kerr told reporters. "So I'm really happy that the officials are going to emphasize it but you got to be consistent with it."
Curry finished the game with 32 points, five rebounds and five assists though he did admit that it was a "dumb play" for him to try and go for a 3-pointer instead of a layup at that juncture of the game.
If Curry had the chance, however, he would definitely do that play over again so the referees aren't put in a position to determine how the game ends.