Three-area colleges receiving federal grants to provide child care services

The U.S. Department of Education has awarded four grants of at least $1.4 million dollars to four institutions in southwest Ohio, including three in the area, according to Senator Sherrod Brown.

>>RELATED: University of Dayton receiving federal grant money from National Science Foundation

The three-area schools are Wright State University, Sinclair Community College and Miami University in Oxford.

The funding is part of the Child Care Access Means Parents in School program and will be used to support low-income parents in postsecondary education by providing campus-based child care services, the release said.

“No parent should have to choose between getting an education or making sure their children are well cared for,” said Senator Brown. “These awards will help Ohio’s great institutions provide more opportunities for parents so they can succeed.”

Universities receiving the funding are:

  • $343,177 grant to Cincinnati State Technical and Community College in Cincinnati.

  • $188,570 grant to Miami University in Oxford.

  • $551,439 grant to Sinclair Community College in Dayton.

  • $397,073 grant to Wright State University in Dayton.