Trojan Records Sets 50th-Anniversary Reissue of ‘The Trojan Story’

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Trojan Records is set to reissue its legendary 1971 collection The Trojan Story — a three-LP set that helped introduce the world to artists like Jimmy Cliff, the Maytals, Desmond Dekker, and Lee “Scratch” Perry — for its 50th anniversary this June.

Long out-of-print, the 50-song anthology — due out June 18th — will be reissued physically and digitally with its original tracklist intact, along with a 50-page illustrated booklet featuring liner notes for every song by Trojan’s label manager Rob Bell — who helped curate the original release — and musician Rusty Zinn.

More from Rolling Stone

In addition to influential reggae tracks like the Maytals’ “Do the Reggay” and “Pressure Drop,” Perry’s “People Funny Boy,” Daddy Livingstone’s “Rudy, A Message to You,” and Alton Ellis’ “Rock Steady,” the anthology featured Trojan standouts the Continentals, Jackie Edwards, the Ethiopians, the Tennors, Duke Reid’s Group, and more.

The Trojan Story 50th-anniversary edition is available to preorder now through the Trojan site.

The Trojan Story Tracklist

  1. Invitation To Jamaica – Lord Tanamo

  2. Fat Man – Derrick Morgan

  3. Tell Me Darling – Jackie Edwards

  4. Running Around – Owen Gray

  5. Miss Jamaica – Jimmy Cliff

  6. Housewife’s Choice – Derrick And Patsy

  7. Give Me All Your Love – The Continentals

  8. Darling Patricia – Owen Gray

  9. Rough And Tough – Stranger Cole

  10. Man To Man – Kentrick Patrick

  11. Uno-Dos-Tres – Stranger & Ken

  12. Slow Boat – Al T. Joe

  13. Rude Boy – Duke Reid’s Group

  14. Gone Is Yesterday – Higgs & Wilson

  15. I’m In The Mood For Ska – Lord Tanamo

  16. Virginia Ska – The Baba Brooks Band

  17. Satan – Justin Hinds & The Dominoes

Disc 2

  1. One Eyed Giant – Baba Brooks & His Band

  2. Every Night – Joe White and Chuck

  3. King Size – Baba Brooks & His Band

  4. Syncopate – The Astronauts

  5. Keep The Pressure On – Winston & George

  6. Oh Babe – The Techniques

  7. Train To Skaville – The Ethiopians

  8. Rudy, A Message To You – Dandy Livingstone

  9. Dreader Than Dread – Honey Boy Martin & The Voices

  10. It’s Raining – The Three Tops

  11. The Whip – The Ethiopians

  12. Pretty Africa – Desmond Dekker & The Aces

  13. Rock Steady – Alton Ellis & the Flames

  14. Rock Steady Train – Ewan & Jerry

  15. King Without A Throne – Sugar Simone

  16. Perfidia – Phyllis Dillon

Disc 3

  1. Musical Train – Roy Shirley

  2. Do The Beng Beng – Derrick Morgan

  3. Way Of Life – Lynn Taitt & The Jets

  4. Second Fiddle – Tommy McCook & The Supersonics

  5. People Funny Boy – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry

  6. I’ve Got To Get You Off My Mind – The Tennors

  7. Do The Reggay – The Maytals

  8. Nana – The Slickers

  9. Tell Me Baby – Delano Stewart

  10. Mama Look Deh – The Reggae Boys

  11. Hong Kong Flu – The Ethiopians

  12. Pressure Drop – The Maytals

  13. Them A Laugh And A Ki ki – The Soul Mates

  14. Walking In The Rain – The Melodians

  15. Satisfaction – Carl Dawkins

  16. Black And White – The Maytones

  17. Rasta Never Fails – The Charmers

Best of Rolling Stone

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting