U.S. Northeast governors order some visitors to quarantine or face $1,000 fine


“So, we’re announcing today a joint travel advisory…”

The governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced Wednesday that visitors to their states from states where COVID-19 rates are high must quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.


“…because a lot of people come into this region and they could literally bring the infection with them.”

The move underscores a stunning sea change in the fight against COVID-19, which began in big northern cities but now grips the south and southwest.

States subject to the 14-day quarantine are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Washington and Utah.

Florida, one of the first states to reopen, on Wednesday experienced a record increase of more than 5,500 new cases. Oklahoma, which never ordered a statewide lockdown, on Wednesday posted record new cases for the sixth time this month. Texas, Arizona, Mississippi, Nevada and California, also hit records this week.

California Governor Gavin Newsom revealed a startling jump in the number of cases from Monday, when just over 4200 people had been diagnosed.

“You’ll see from this chart, those numbers have increased some 69 percent to 7149 individuals – over 7000 individuals, a record number here in the state of California – that have tested positive for COVID-19.”

The New York-New Jersey -Connecticut tri-state area was able to lower its infection rate after locking down much of its economy and moving slowly to reopen. Face coverings are also expected in all public places.

Such quarantines are not unprecedented. Hawaii requires visitors from the U.S. mainland to self-quarantine for two weeks. Florida and Texas at one point required people coming in from New York area airports to quarantine for two weeks. Visitors found violating the order, which takes effect from midnight, could face fines of $1,000 for a first violation and $5,000 for repeat offenses.