UConn field hockey to host NCAA Final Four for the first time since 1997

·1 min read

UConn will host the NCAA Division I field hockey Final Four Nov. 17-20 at the George Sherman Family Complex in Storrs.

The Huskies, who have won five national championships, have hosted the national championship game twice – in 1981, when UConn beat UMass to win the first NCAA title, and in 1997 when North Carolina won the championship.

Last year, UConn went 11-11, losing in the Big East championship game to top-seeded Liberty, 1-0.

The Huskies won their fifth national title in 2017, capping off their only perfect season at 23-0. They also won in 1985, 2013 and ‘14.

“When we got the bid for it, it was before the pandemic, so the shape of our team is different now than it would have been, had there been no pandemic,” coach Paul Caddy said. “But I expect us to be a top 10 team. If we work hard and things go well, I think we’ll have a shot. And if we’re at home, it gives you an even better shot.”

One of UConn’s top players, Sophie Hamilton, who led the Huskies in scoring during the shortened 2020 spring season, went home to England and is now playing for Great Britain’s national team.

Lori Riley can be reached at lriley@courant.com.