Videos: Chattanooga mayoral and city council candidates discuss police reform and public safety

Chattanooga Times Free Press, Tenn.
·1 min read

Feb. 21—The Times Free Press, in partnership with WRCB Channel 3, interviewed 32 candidates in Chattanooga's city election. Early voting takes place until Feb. 25, with election day on March 2.

In the below videos, Chattanooga mayoral and city council candidates answered questions about public safety in Chattanooga, including a sharp increase in gun violence in 2020, last summer's protests against police brutality and police department reform.

Council candidates who are unopposed, Carol Berz from District 6 and Chip Henderson from District 1, did not participate. Mayoral candidates Monty Bell and Russell Gilbert declined to participate.

For more information about the local elections, click here for the Times Free Press Voter Guide.

Chattanooga mayoral candidates: Monty Bell, Monty Bruell, Lon Cartwright, Christopher Dahl, D'Angelo Davis, Russell Gilbert, Wade Hinton, Tim Kelly, Chris Long, George Ryan Love, Andrew McLaren, Erskine Oglesby, Kim White, Robert C. Wilson and Dr. Elenora Woods.

Watch video on Youtube »

District 1 (unopposed): Incumbent Chip Henderson.

District 2 (open seat): Tim Gorman, Jenny Hill and Thomas Lee.

District 3 (opposed): Incumbent Ken Smith, challenger Rachael Torrence.

District 4 (opposed): Incumbent Darrin Ledford, challenger Bill Lloyd.

District 5 (open seat): Dennis Milton Clark, Cynthia Stanley-Cash, Isaiah Hester, Alan "A.J" Holman and Leanne Jones.

District 6 (unopposed): Incumbent Carol Berz.

District 7 (open seat): Raquetta Dotley and Ken Hays.

District 8 (opposed): Challenger D'Andre Anderson, incumbent Anthony Byrd and challenger Marie Mott.

District 9 (opposed): Incumbent Demetrus Coonrod, challenger Kelvin Scott.