Virtual forums to allow public to 'meet' candidates for local office

The public is invited to attend four online forums with candidates in the Nov. 8 election, sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Bloomington-Monroe County and 11 other organizations: Brown County Chamber of Commerce; Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Bloomington Alumnae Chapter; Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce; Hoosier Action; Indiana Coalition for Public Education - Monroe County; Kappa Tau Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.; League of Women Voters of Brown County; League of Women Voters of South-Central Indiana; Monroe County NOW; NAACP Monroe County.

The forums will be hosted on Zoom from 7-8:30 p.m. Advance registration is required: simply go and register for the forum(s) you wish to attend. A reminder of the forum will be sent to registrants shortly before the relevant date.

On the ballot:Here's what MCCSC, R-BB school board candidates say about buses, enrollment and more

Questions for the candidates are welcome. They should be submitted to with a notation of the forum(s) to which a question is directed.

All candidates in contested Monroe County-wide races, as well as those in Indiana House of Representatives races covering any part of Monroe County and those seeking to represent Congressional District 9, have been invited to participate. The forum sponsors continue to hear from people reluctant to vote for candidates who disregard constituents by refusing to answer their questions. Candidates who have not yet confirmed their participation are urged to do so.

The forums will take place as follows:

Wednesday, Sept. 28: U.S. House Indiana District 9

  • Confirmed: Matt Fyfe (D), Tonya Millis (L)

  • Also invited: Erin Houchin (R)

Thursday, Sept. 29: Indiana House Districts 46, 60, 62

  • Confirmed: Kurtis Cummings (D, 46), Penny Githens (D, 62)

  • Also invited: Dave Hall (R, 62), Bob Heaton (R, 46), Peggy Mayfield (R, 60), Kathy Thorpe (D, 60)

Monday, Oct. 10: Monroe County Governance (contested races: Council District 1, Commission District 1)

  • Confirmed: Peter Iversen (D Council), Lee Jones (D Commission)

  • Also invited: Jim Allen (R Council), Perry Robinson (R Commission)

Wednesday, Oct. 12: Monroe County Law and Justice (contested races: Sheriff, Circuit Court District 7, Seat 7)

  • Confirmed: Carl Lamb (R Judge), Ruben Marté (D Sheriff), Emily Salzmann (D Judge)

  • Also invited: Nathan Williamson (R Sheriff)

This article originally appeared on The Herald-Times: League of Women Voters to host candidate forums for Monroe County