Voters to choose Montgomery County officials, state legislative nominees Thursday

The second of three election days for 2022 in Montgomery County is set for Thursday.

With a solid, though not-overwhelming July early voting turnout to reference for expected election day voter totals, this state primary and county general election offers up some interesting contested races.

Election Day No. 2 for 2022 has arrived
Election Day No. 2 for 2022 has arrived

It is predicted to be a typically warm early-August day, with some scattered thunderstorm chances and daytime high temperatures in the low 90s as voters head to the polls Thursday.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. The Montgomery County Election Commission has instituted 38 polling precincts countywide for residents to cast ballots, based on where they live.

Montgomery County Administrator of Elections Elizabeth Black said local voters had to be registered to vote by July 5 to be eligible to cast ballots in the Aug. 4 election.

Early voting: Clarksville state primary heats up as early voting increases over May election

Six figures?: Take a look at much money Montgomery County elected officials, judges make

"Voters must report to their polling location to vote on Election Day, and that information on where to report may be found on the green voter registration cards that they should have received in the mail earlier this year," Black said.

Voters must bring a Tennessee-or-federally-issued photo identification to vote.

Key, locally contested races on the ballot in the county general election include the two-way race for county mayor.

In that race to replace current Mayor Jim Durrett, who decided not to seek a third term, there is Republican nominee Wes Golden, against Joe Ellen "Jodi" O'Connor, running as an independent.

Golden threw his hat in the ring in the spring of 2021 almost as soon as Durrett confirmed he wouldn't run. O'Connor's name emerged soon after.

Another two-way race, for Montgomery County Sheriff, features incumbent and Republican nominee John Fuson against independent candidate Mike Oliver.

The local judiciary features a two-way race for 19th District Circuit Court Judge Part III, between Republican nominee Joel Wallace and independent Kimberly Turner.

Seeking re-election as chancellor is Laurence McMillan, an independent who is challenged by Republican nominee Ben Dean.

And in a three-way contest for General Sessions and Juvenile Court Judge Division II, three newcomers are contending: Reid Poland, Republican; Merriel Bullock-Neal, Democrat; and James Bagby, independent.

Thursday's state primary also includes some contested races of local interest. Winners in these races will move on to the State General Election, that will be paired with the Clarksville City Election, on Nov. 8.

Seeking the Republican nomination for state House of Representatives in District 67 are John Dawson and Tommy Vallejos.

A three-way race for the Republican nomination in state House District 75 includes Jeff Burkhart, Kent Griffy and Deanna McLaughlin.

Reach Jimmy Settle at or 931-245-0247. To support his work, sign up for a digital subscription to

Thursday's ballot

Here are the contested races appearing on the Aug. 4 ballot:

State primary

Governor (R)

Bill Lee

Governor (D)

Carnita Faye Atwater

Jason Brantley Martin

JB Smiley Jr.

Tennessee House of Representatives District 67 (R)

John W. Dawson 

Tommy J. Vallejos, Sr. 

Tennessee House of Representatives District 67 (D)

Ronnie L. Glynn

Tennessee House of Representatives District 68 (R)

Curtis Johnson

(Monica Meeks, running as an independent in District 68, will appear on the Nov. 8 State General Election ballot only)

Tennessee House of Representatives District 75 (R)

Jeff Burkhart 

Kent Griffy 

Deanna McLaughlin 

State Executive Committeeman District 22 (R)

Doug Englen 

Patricia (Pat) Allen 

State Executive Committeeman District 22 (D)

Charles Uffelman 

Karen D. Sorenson 

State Executive Committeeman District 23 (R)

Larry Hillis 

Mary Ann Parks 

County General Election

Montgomery County mayor

Wes Golden (R)

Jo Ellen "Jodi" O'Connor (I)


John S. Fuson (R)

Mike Oliver (I)

Circuit Court Judge Part III

Joel Wallace (R)

Kimberly Turner (I)


Ben Dean (R)

Laurence M. McMillan, Jr. (I)

General Sessions & Juvenile Court Judge Division II

Reid Poland (R) 

Merriel Bullock-Neal (D)

James Bagby (I)

Circuit Court Clerk

Wendy Davis (R)

Faye Rennell Hobson (I)

County Commission District 2

Jason D. Knight (R)

John (JM) Genis (I)

Charles D. Keene (I)

Dennis J. Potvin (I)

County Commission District 4

Ascension "Big Sarge" Lopez (R)

Rickey Ray (I)

County Commission District 5

Rashidah A. Leverett (D)

Lori J. Mason (I)

County Commission District 6

Michael Lankford (R)

Randy Allbert (I)

County Commission District 7

Nathan Burkholder (R)

Tony Eldridge (I)

Rocky Sickel (I) 

County Commission District 11

Christine S. McKinney (D)

Joe L. Creek (I)

County Commission District 12

Carmelle Chandler (D)

Joey Dasinger (I)

County Commission District 14

Billy Burgett (D)

Joshua Beal (I)

County Commission District 16

Joshua Wikholm (R)

Lisa Prichard (D)

County Commission District 17

Sam Houston (R)

Chris Rasnic (D)

County Commission District 18

Kyong Suk Dawson (R)

Ryan Gallant (D)

County Commission District 19

William "Billy" Frye (I)

Garland V. Johnson (I)

County Commission District 20

Autumn Simmons (R)

Michael Walker (I)

County Commission District 21

Jerry Allbert (I)

David Wayne Shelton (I)

School Board District 1

John Crespo (R)

Carol A. Berry (D)

School Board District 3

Janet M. Peterson (R)

Herbert A. Nelson (D)

Ambar Marquis (I)

School Board District 5

Brad Morrow (R)

Jimmie M. Garland (D)

Ballot source: Montgomery County Election Commission

This article originally appeared on Clarksville Leaf-Chronicle: Montgomery County election candidates 2022 for August 4