Waveland’s primary election is Tuesday. See the ballots for mayor, aldermen races.

Voters in Waveland go to the polls Tuesday to choose a new mayor and candidates who will run for aldermen.

Waveland City Hall at 301 Coleman Ave. will be open from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, Oct. 1 for a final day of absentee voting.

Voting is from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 4 and all precincts vote at the Coleman Avenue Fire Station, 307 Coleman Ave.

A runoff, if necessary, is scheduled for Oct. 25 and the general election is Dec. 6.

Waveland was formed under a special charter and the city’s elections are at a different year than the other 11 cities in South Mississippi, who had municipal elections in 2021.

This is a particularly important election for Waveland after Mayor Mike Smith chose not to seek a third term because of health issues.

At least two new aldermen will be elected since Jeremy Burke in Ward 1 and Charles Piazza in Ward 4 are running for mayor. Ward 2 incumbent Bobby Richardson, a Republican, faces a Democrat challenger in the general election and Ward 3 Alderman Shane LaFontaine is running unopposed.

The winners will take office in January.

Smith, who has been mayor since January 2015, said he is facing a kidney transplant.

Waveland Mayor Mike Smith
Waveland Mayor Mike Smith

It is difficult to leave his position as mayor at this time, Smith said, because all the things he and city officials have worked on for the past eight years are now getting started.

Four Republican candidates and seven total candidates are running to be the next mayor will continue his work and Smith said, “I have not endorsed anybody.”

Candidates for mayor

Republican candidates for mayor in Waveland’s Oct. 4 primary election
Republican candidates for mayor in Waveland’s Oct. 4 primary election

Four Republicans in the primary for mayor make a runoff very possible. The Republican candidates are:

  • Jeremy Burke, an alderman for eight years

  • Charles Piazza, an alderman for 16 years

  • Paul “PT” Taylor

  • Jay Trapani

The winner of the Republican primary will run in the general election against:

  • Nikki Tingstrom, Democrat

  • Micah Tinkler, Independent

  • Brice Phillips, Libertarian

Candidates for aldermen

Republican candidates for Ward 1 alderman in Waveland’s Oct. 4 primary election
Republican candidates for Ward 1 alderman in Waveland’s Oct. 4 primary election

Ward 1 aldermen Republican candidates in the primary are:

  • Roger Estopinal

  • Rhonda Aime Gamble

  • Bob Martin

  • Henry Tebbe

The winner of the Republican primary will face in the general election:

  • Cheryl Crosby Tenney, Independent

  • Mathew Adams, Libertarian

Ward 2 has no contest for alderman in the primary. Opposing candidates in the general election are:

The following individuals qualified for the Ward 2 Alderman race:

  • Bobby Richardson, Republican, the incumbent

  • Clarance Harris, Democrat

Ward 3 Alderman Shane LaFontaine, a Republican, has no opposition in this year’s election.

Ward 4 will have a new alderman in January, who will be determined in the general election. Those who qualified are:

  • Gary Catalano, Republican

  • Jeremy Clark, Independent

  • Lynn Smith, Libertarian