White Sox legend Mark Buehrle gets 44 Hall of Fame votes, stays on ballot

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Vinnie Duber
·2 min read
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Mark Buehrle gets 44 Hall of Fame votes, stays on ballot originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

One of the most legendary pitchers in White Sox history will stay on the Hall of Fame ballot for at least another year.

Mark Buehrle received 44 votes in this year's Hall of Fame election, appearing on 11 percent of all ballots cast and surpassing the 5 percent needed to remain on the ballot for another year.

Buehrle is one of the most accomplished arms in club history, helping the White Sox to their World Series championship in 2005 and throwing both a no-hitter and a perfect game, three of the most celebrated achievements in South Side baseball during the 21st century.

RELATED: TA: Sox 'not going to shy away' from World Series goal

The left-hander has some strong numbers to back up his candidacy for Cooperstown, as well, many of them showcasing his durability, dependability, defensive prowess and old-school style that saw him deliver rapid-fire performances that stood in stark contrast to the slow-moving games of the modern era.

And voters will have at least one more opportunity to evaluate those credentials, as Buehrle will be back on the ballot next year. He received the most votes of any of the players appearing on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time and is one of three players, along with Torii Hunter and Tim Hudson, who will remain on the ballot.

In other Hall of Fame voting news, no player appeared on the requisite 75 percent of ballots needed for election to Cooperstown. Curt Schilling came the closest, falling little more than a dozen votes shy of election.

Other players with White Sox ties on this year's ballot fared thusly: Omar Vizquel received 197 votes (49.1 percent of ballots), Andruw Jones got 136 votes (33.9 percent of ballots), Manny Ramírez got 113 votes (28.2 percent of ballots), Sammy Sosa got 68 votes (17 percent of ballots) and Nick Swisher got zero votes. Full voting results can be found here.

Though there will be no players inducted as part of the ceremony this summer, last year's class — which saw its ceremony postponed by the COVID-19 pandemic — will be inducted this summer. That group includes White Sox broadcasting legend Ken "Hawk" Harrelson, who was named a winner of the Ford C. Frick Award in December 2019.

Click here to subscribe to the White Sox Talk Podcast for free.


Download MyTeams Today!